Positive Concepts: The Interweb Version

The official Youth Ministry newsletter of Anderson First UMC

My Interest in Pinterest

Hey everyone, it’s Angela!  A new fad I have been seeing a lot of is Pinterest – a website you have to be invited to join where you can look at cool craft ideas, recipes, jokes, or pictures.  It kind of reminds me of Stumbleupon but my friends would say it is a little more feminine.  On Pinterest you can have followers and post other people’s findings to your own boards by re-pinning things.  You  can name your boards and have different boards for different things.  In my opinion Pinterest can either be really good or really really bad.  I have found myself using Pinterest to avoid studying, or to just look for five minutes, but it turns out I end up spending hours on there.

Pinterest has some really cool ideas on it, like melting crayons to make them look like rain.  I have also found one of my all time favorite recipes on Pinterest.  A lot of my guy friends say “Pinterest is a place where girls get on and share wedding ideas and think about wedding plans when they aren’t even in a relationship.”  I must agree to disagree with them.  I myself do have a “Wedding Ideas” board I must admit, but I also use that board for wedding gift ideas and ideas for weddings I could end up helping with.

What I find the most interesting about Pinterest is that it has appealed to both the older and younger generations of women.  Among all of the social networking sites we have nowadays I feel like Pinterest is the one that is the most intergenerational. Facebook is focused on youth and college students with some parents here and there.  Myspace, which is old now, was focused on middle schoolers and high schoolers. Twitter is focused on the same age groups as Facebook, which is teamed with Instagram.

Pinterest is a growing trend and I see its good uses, but I also feel like too much Pinterest, along with too much Facebook and Twitter, can become a problem.

Pin Safe!!!

Billboard Top Ten (Week of May 26, 2012)

  1. Somebody That I Used to Know by Gotye Featuring Kimbra
  2. Payphone by Maroon 5 Featuring Wiz Khalifa
  3. We Are Young by fun. Featuring Janelle Monae
  4. Call Me Maybe by Carly Rae Jepsen
  5. Wild Ones by Flo Rida Featuring Sia
  6. Starships by Nicki Minaj
  7. What Makes You Beautiful by One Direction
  8. Glad You Came by The Wanted
  9. Boyfriend by Justin Bieber
  10. Drive By by Train

Single Post Navigation

Add to the Discussion!